Be Intentional.

My previous Lents, I am embarrassed to admit, are full of broken “resolutions”. I am sure I am not the only out there with this experience. Each Lent, I looked at others who are so faithful and wondered, “How do they do it?” Well, I don’t have an answer to that, but I have my own.

Be intentional. 

This is an idea that my directress has suggested, and I’ve entertained it and put it into practice now and again. Guess what? It works! When you are doing something, especially if it is difficult, offer it up as a prayer for someone.

It all started when I couldn’t get out of bed when my alarm went off. I wanted to get up earlier so my mornings would not be so hectic. So, I put a prayer intention on the action of getting up when the alarm went off. I decided to offer that act up for my sister. When the alarm went off, I wanted to get up not for myself, but for my sister. It was not just about me and my desire, but it became an offering to God for the sake of another.

Preparing for Lent, I knew I wanted to make it this time, so I started to think of ways to help me persevere. Immediately, I thought of this idea of intentionality.

As anyone knows, fasting is a difficult practice, and most of us always have enough to eat. At the twinge of hunger, we look for food. For me fasting has always been trying, especially since there is always an abundance of food at my disposal. So, I decided to make my fasting intentional. I think about all the people in the world who don’t have enough to eat. They live with the constant pangs of hunger. Can’t I endure with a small amount of food? My suffering becomes a sacrifice, an offering for those who suffer. This kind of prayer is powerful!

I know this is a small act and will by no means solve the problem of hunger in our world. However, it brings me closer to those people. I’ve united my suffering with theirs as a prayer for them. Being intentional brings me to a fuller awareness of my own life and the lives of others. When we make sacrifices for others it brings us closer to one another and closer to Christ.

There are so many people in our world to pray for – how do we ever begin? Being intentional is one way to start. Think about your day and all the things you have to do, especially the more difficult ones. Imagine if you placed an intention on these things. You would end up praying for so many people and your day would be one of prayer.

So often we think prayer has to be a period of quiet in a sacred place. It can be, of course, and it is so important to have a quiet time of prayer each day. Yet, we must remember that our work and daily struggles can be our prayer too if we are intentional.

I hope this was helpful because I know this simple, but powerful idea has transformed my own life. Let us pray for God’s grace as we pray, fast, and give alms during these 40 days of Lent.

Published by singdancepraiselove

I am a beloved daughter of God, a religious sister, a teacher, an creator, a daughter, a sister, a friend.

One thought on “Be Intentional.

Leave a comment